Please see below just some of the lovely reviews that have been posted onto TripAdvisor, FaceBook and Google. We’ve kept in the comments about the award-winning building, libraries and exhibition areas as they’re all part of the fabulous experience which is Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries!

2018

“First time of having afternoon tea today and would highly recommend. Plenty of cakes and sandwiches which were delicious, staff were lovely and attentive, nice warm surroundings……will defo be back!!!!”
5 stars, April 2018

A lovely place to visit
“We had a lovely time here, so much to see and do. we had a lovely lunch in the cafe – recommend the soup. The Kings and Queens of Scotland walk was very interesting. there are lovely grounds to walk and sit in too and you can sit beside Soutar Johnny and get your photo taken!!”
5 stars, April 2018

Very well done. An enjoyable and interesting visit
“Spent a couple of hours here. Very well presented history of the area with lovely views of the abbey and gardens. Great cafe too. We had coffee and cake but it looked like quite a few people had afternoon tea.”
5 stars, April 2018

Great place for local history and temporary exhibitions
“This place is virtually next door to the abbey and is well worth a visit in its own right. Apart from the library, which has comfortable chairs to sit down and read, it also houses the local museum. Dunfermline has a long and distinguished history in the annals of Scotland and the museum reflects this with the main emphasis less on the ancient and more on the modern period. There are displays demonstrating how typical working class rooms looked like at various past times and Pete Agnew of Nazareth fame has donated his electric bass guitar. This hangs in the main entrance. While I was at the gallery there was an excellent exhibition of the paintings of the Glasgow boys. There is also a good cafe on site.”
4 stars, April 2018

“Nice bright venue with museum, library and gallery. Good fresh food.”
5 stars, March 2018

Great space with something for everyone
“We chose to visit the “Glasgow Boys” art exhibition, which was interesting, but there was a whole lot more going on. There is an exhibition about the forth bridges, with some dressing up clothes (not for me this time- but I have been known to oblige in the past). A museum with shop, coffee shop and free wifi. All very encouraging, and quite busy on a Sunday afternoon. We will be back.”
4 stars, March 2018

“A great place to have lunch or a cup of tea/coffee with great home baking!”
5 stars, March 2018

Something for all
“Dunfermline Library has something for everyone, small cafe , children’s play area reading rooms everything available for finding out about Fife’s history past and present, it’s right on the doorstep of Dunfermline Abbey and Pittencrieff Park and the town centre.”
5 stars, March 2018

Afternoon tea
“My friend and I have just had a lovely afternoon tea here today (9th March). It was well worth the money paid. There was loads to eat I the sandwiches scone and cakes. We couldn’t eat it all so we were given a wee box to take the cakes home. Normally it is the one in Milnathort we go to but will certainly return to this one again. Thank you for a scrumptious tea.”
4 stars, March 2018

“We had an amazing mothers day afternoon tea today. Great food and very friendly staff. Will definitely be back”
5 stars, March 2018

A delightfully tasty experience
“The afternoon tea was a real feast. Tasty sandwiches, scones with clotted cream and jam and a nice selection of cakes along with a pot of tea. There was a sandwich I particularly wanted but wasn’t in our personal selection but the server made one up for me which I very much appreciated.”
5 stars, February 2018

“Was one of the best afternoon teas. Would go again”
5 stars, February 2018

Wonderful cafe with amazing views
“This was a real surprise when I visited the museum. I had a chicken and mango toasted sandwich and it was really delicious……in fact everything looked great. The home made cakes looked very appetizing. The staff were friendly and attentive and the place was very clean and well looked after. The views over the Abbey and graveyard were great. Would recommend.”
5 stars, February 2018

Afternoon treat
“Despite venue being busy we had prompt service for our afternoon tea. Food was great and sooo much we were given a doggie bag to take home the cakes we could not manage. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly making our visit a real treat. Will return and try a lunch and recommend to friends.”
5 stars, February 2018


“Spent a lovely time having afternoon tea with my daughter and sisters. The food was lovely all very fresh. The staff very attentive and friendly. Will be back and highly recommend.”
5 stars, February 2018

 “I was there today with my mum. The food and coffee was delicious. The waitress gave absolutely brilliant service. Thank you so much. We will be back!”

5 stars, February 2018

“Heaven Scent is my favourite coffee shop around, the coffee is fantastique and the cakes are yummy. Comes highly recommended to any visitors to Dunfermline or anyone looking for a new haunt. Sometimes quiet, but usually really busy on weekends, connected to a lovely art gallery in the library and such a fabulous view over the Firth. Looking forward to the opportunity to have High Tea…”
5 stars, February 2018

A thoroughly pleasing experience
“Excellent and plentiful afternoon tea selection. COELIACS and people on wheat free diets will find a great selection of tempting treats. Tasty food, good service and historic views. What more could you ask for?”
5 stars, February 2018

Afternoon tea
“Came here with friends for afternoon tea .There was a nice selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Staff were friendly and it was reasonably priced.”
5 stars, February 2018

Great amenity
“Lots to see and do. Children’s library is excellent. Lovely garden, child friendly with wee maze. Food and service exceptional.”
5 stars, February 2018

“Fabulous afternoon tea”
5 stars, February 2018

Afternoon tea delight
“I am a regular visitor to Heaven Scent in Milnathort and the Dunfermline Cafe was up to the same high standards. The food was delicious, homemade cakes to die for and a great selection on sandwiches. The service was outstanding, the waitresses could no do more for you they were great. Kept making sure we had plenty drinks but also great at explaining all the food items. A credit to the business! Will definitely be back for more cake!”
5 stars, February 2018

“Lovely welcome and the superviser checked several times that we were enjoying it….overall an excellent tea in super surroundings.”
5 stars, February 2018

Good food
“We loved our visit to Heaven Sent at Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries. Staff were very welcoming and attentive. Everything was even better than we expected. My only suggestion would be to make the scones smaller. They were delicious but a bit big.”
5 stars, January 2018

Afternoon tea at Heaven Scent Carnegie Library
“Afternoon tea was incredible. The food was excellent and Beccy in particular couldn’t have been nicer. Would recommend this to anyone. Only newly started this but I’m sure they’ll make a success of it.”
5 stars, January 2018

Excellent
“Have eaten here or had just a coffee on a number of occasions now and I have enjoyed it each time. It can be busy which is really good to see, sometimes have had to wait a while whilst all the various coffees are made, but not always. Love the soups, bacon roll was delicious and lovely coffee too.”
5 stars, January 2018

2017

“The day the library opened I knew it would be good. Went there and lovely place staff were great amazing service maze for toddlers Cafe museum about Dunfermline and history I would recommend the place.”
5 stars, December 2017

“Thank you for providing not one but FOUR delicious vegan cake options and a suitable savoury wrap. It makes such a change, as vegans, to have any sort of choice and your selection far surpasses any of the local cafes. We had the chocolate topped gingerbread which was lovely with decent coffee 😀

“Just been in for my first visit to Heaven Scent in Dunfermline. Amazing view from all the windows, hot chocolate to die for (yes I had marshmallows and cream!) and excellent staff who are so aware of their customer’s needs that they jumped into action when a young mum was juggling a crying baby and a cup of coffee. No coffee shops like this down south. Lovely visit.”

Excellent small museum
“They made an excellent job of this library/museum/cafe. The museum galleries are interesting. The small shop has some nice stock. It is near the abbey, so definitely stop by if you are visiting the main sights of Dunfermline.”
5 stars, December 2017

“Had a great lunch here and then an hour with my niece and nephew who loved it all. What a great place.”
5 stars, November 2017

Great place to visit
“Lovely bright interesting museum in a great location! Well designed and cafe is worth a stop off too!”
5 stars, November 2017

“Beautiful place. Had my granddaughter in cafe was beautiful staff are so nice and friendly
5 stars, November 2017

Not just a library!
“This is a remarkable place to visit! So much to offer. An excellent cafe for a cuppa or small lunch. Historic galleries about Dumfermline’s role in WW I and II. And a Museum quality galley about the fine linen manufacturing in Dumfermline’s past. Expect to spend several hours if you want to see it all.”
5 stars, October 2017

“I had the Mediterranean tart and it was served with a little green salad, potatoes salad, and cous cous salad on the side. It was lovely.”
5 stars, October 2017


“Love coming here! Friendly, delicious and vegan-friendly! Couldn’t really ask for more”
5 stars, October 2017

“While visiting the nearby Abbey and Palace this building was recommended to us because of its cafe. Yes, the cafe is nice with a good menu and pleasant surrounding but it is the museum that is the hidden gem. The many interesting items, not only those relative to Dunfermline’s Royal connection, make this a place worth visiting.”
5 stars, October 2017

“Carnegie’s first library, a beautiful building. The new museum is well worth a visit and has a good cafe. There are wonderful views of The Abbey from the museum.”
5 stars, October 2017

“Excellent facilities, new extension blend well with the revamped old building. The beautiful gardens to the west of the building are complimented by a view of Dunfermline Abbey. There is a pleasant cafeteria with outside balcony overlooking the garden and Abbey grounds.”
5 stars, October 2017

“Beautifully done, great views. Museum interesting. Cafe good coffee, tea cosy on the teapot, nice touch. Library facility impressive.”
5 stars, September 2017

“Had a look around and what I did see was well laid out, my wife and I went to the cafe and a nice touch was the hot coffee was brought across to our table. ”
4 stars, September 2017

 Beautiful new extension
“This is a great place to visit for adults of all ages and children. There is a huge amount to do and see and staff members are very friendly and willing to share their knowledge. The cafe is excellent and the gardens are very well laid out. The atmosphere was welcoming and I got the feeling that people really cared about the place.”
5 stars, September 2017

“Beautifully done, great views. Museum interesting. Cafe good coffee, tea cosy on the teapot, nice touch. Library facility impressive.”
5 stars, September 2017

Clean
“The staff here are very pleasant, food extremely tasty. Clean areas and well presented. Was busy for a Sunday but again, clean tables.”
5 stars, September 2017

Impressive facility and enjoyable fist visit
With a nice little cafe, clean and modern toilets and beautiful gardens with designed seating, sculptures and a small low hedged childrens “maze” this facility provides everything for a great visit for all. Finally, while I understand not all agree, I was delighted to still recognise the Carnegie library I attended as a child integrated so well with a completely different architectural space. Oh, and amazingly entrance is free to all! Dunfermline should be proud of this excellent addition to the town (sorry, old person here, I meant city) and appreciative of the architects, builders, staff, volunteers and all of the team who brought this project from idea to fruition. We certainly are and will be returning regularly.
5 stars, September 2017

Brilliant new library & museum
New Carnegie Library is fabulous! Design modern with brilliant open areas. Sitting in cafe wrap around balcony looking out onto the Abbey. Gorgeous!! Small and delightful museum proudly linking to Dunfermline’s past!”
5 stars, September 2017

Fantastic
“What can I say, but just totally fantastic, what a great job done by all involved with the new design and development of the new galleries, the nostalgia that is on display evokes great memories of yesteryear, there are a plethora of memorabilia on display over a few levels, safe to say that we didn’t have enough time to cover it all. The cafe was also of a good standard.”
5 stars, September 2017

What a lovely find
“I am ashamed to say that I love just 5 minutes from here and didn’t even know it existed! As a child, I used to visit the old library and had long since forgotten about it however on a recent visit to dunfermline, we took advantage of the beautiful weather with a walk round the abbey and stumbled upon here and what a find it is! Beautifully integrated old library with the new galleries, cafe and shop and the gardens are just lovely! Very impressed with that has been done here and will go back for another visit when I have some more time.”
4 stars, September 2017

“Opened this year beside and adjoining the existing library this is a great addition to the towns culture.Its bright and spacious with two parallel wings letting in overhead light. The museum part although small is comprehensive and well chosen showing local history. The art gallery again is small but contains a good selection of important works buy Scottish artists. There is an excellent first floor café run by Heaven Scent, a well respected and successful local business centred on Milnathort.”

“What a fantastic addition for Dunfermline and for Fife. Love how the building capitalises on natural light and views to the Abbey and surroundings. Cafe and galleries were both very popular during our Friday lunchtime visit.”
5 stars, August 2017

“Enjoyed our visit to the new museum and library very much. Beautifully laid out and lovely helpful staff. Lunch in the cafe was delicious and good value for money. Will be back again soon.”
5 stars, July 2017

“The gardens are stunning and so peaceful. Love the balcony in the cafe overlooking the gardens. Great asset to Dunfermline x”
5 stars, July 2017

“Gardens looking lovely. Just had coffee & cake really good brill sponge the blueberry was to die for. Excellent service.”
4 stars, July 2017

“Loved the new museum and library. Definitely a great asset to Dunfermline. Love the video upstairs with the Kings and Queens. Brilliant. Lovely cafe and helpful staff throughout Garden is also lovely 😊 Thanks so much it was well worth the wait.”
5 stars, July 2017

Impressed
“Was very impressed with the new building attached to the old..very interesting stories relating to the local areas, the war and families..cafe had a good selection of cakes etc.”
5 stars, June 2017

Toddler friendly and fun
“Small museum but just the right size for a wander. It’s free, which is always fabulous and access is perfect for a double buggy. There are bright engaging displays with lots of interactive sections, colouring in stations, games and a small dressing up section. The children’s library room is modern and inviting and opens up into a beautiful garden, complete with box hedge maze. Once you have learnt about Dunfermline and its past the cafe is a must visit. Gorgeous food, excellent service and very, very (drool) tasty cake that started a fork war between myself and the kids!”
4 stars, June 2017

An amazing new building
“This redevelopment of the old library is stunning. The building and small gardens were beautiful and the new galleries provided the museum with a modern, accessible resource which were presented in an informative way. Also a brilliant cafe with balcony overlooking Abbey and gardens was also great.”
5 stars, June 2017

Impressed
“Was very impressed with the new building attached to the old..very interesting stories relating to the local areas, the war and families..cafe had a good selection of cakes etc.”
5 stars, June 2017

“Visited for the first time today with my 2 daughters. My older daughter was attending the Harry Potter event (which was brilliant by all accounts!) and my younger daughter and I had a fantastic hour and a half wandering around the interactive exhibitions in the museum, playing snakes and ladders and ‘build your museum’ in the galleries, solving the maze (twice) in the gardens and stopping off at the cafe (which was pretty reasonably priced). I am so impressed with how fantastic this place is and my daughters are asking to go back this weekend. We will be spending a lot of time here!”
5 stars, June 2017

“We were very impressed with the way the Architects have sympatheticly incorporated the original library with the modern interior and exterior of the Museum. The place is flooded with light and the views from the large windows over the Abbey and the Forth are amazing..There are a lot of interactive exhibit’s with interesting commentries from employees of Erskine Beveridge and Wintertour Silk Mills also residents of Dunfermline telling stories of their lives here.. There is also an Art Gallery, shop and a very nice cafe serving drinks and light bites..”
5 stars, June 2017

“We think that Heaven Scent have got it just right with the selection of food and with the way that the food is displayed. I enjoyed the coffee (really good taste from their machine) and the Earl Grey and Lemon cake was excellent.”
5 stars, June 2017

“Great to have this lovely venue in Dunfermline. Love the windows and views, gardens and cafe. Kids library is lovely and great exhibition space. Definitely be back on my own for a better look.”
5 stars, June 2017

“Really well done and would highly recommend a visit. The modern structure ties in beautifully. It has a great spacious feel and the exhibits are cleverly done to draw your interest. The full sized windows give great views. The Sicilian lemon cake from the cafe was a bonus. Fantastic will definitely be back.”
5 stars, June 2017

“Have spent a very enjoyable couple of hours here- cafe good with friendly staff.”
4 stars, June 2017

“This is a stunning newly open building a modern structure wrapped around the original library it offers lots to see the set up and lay out is so easy to navigate. The staff were very welcoming and friendly great café staff and superb food, the gardens were inviting the views from the glazed walkways and large windows were stunning all in all a great visit for me and I can see me back again.”
5 stars, June 2017

“We were looking for a good cup of tea and scone in Dunfermline and a local person suggested this place. We were surprised how good it was, particularly focussing on the history and current community of Dunfermline. The tea and scones were very good.”
5 stars, June 2017

“The New Library and Exhibition Centre opened on 18th May and has free entry to the exhibition halls and Library. It is excellent place to visit on a wet day. It has a nice cafe.”
5 stars, May 2017

“Fabulous views over the Abbey while we had lunch and coffee. Friendly, attentive staff and the food was delicious.”
5 stars, May 2017

“The staff were very welcoming and friendly great café staff and superb food, the gardens were inviting the views from the glazed walkways and large windows were stunning all in all a great visit for me and I can see me back again.”
5 stars, May 2017

“The cafe is quite spacious with a good selection of food.”
5 stars, May 2017

“We visited the cafe which is really good with very friendly and helpful staff and the food/drinks are really nice would recommend their hot chocolates and cakes. Will definitely be visiting again.”
5 stars, May 2017

“Fantastic facilities and lovely cafe, great food, coffee and service! A great addition to Dunfermline! Loved it!”
5 stars, May 2017

“Great place very inspirational a place for everyone of every age food excellent in the cafe”
5 stars, May 2017

“Visited today and thought it was fabulous! Lovely gardens and staff were very friendly! Topped off with a lovely cuppa and cake!”
5 stars, May 2017

“I was really unsure what to expect from the newly renovated and extended library, but I have to say that I absolutely LOVE it! The library itself has retained its original charm, and the new museum and café are modern and spacious and offer great views across to the abbey and further afield. I love the museum, which is interesting and fun, and touches on Dunfermline’s rich history without inducing an information overload. The wee gift shop is nice, cakes in the café are to die for. Staff are friendly and helpful. And it was super busy, with people of all ages. This place is just what Dunfermline needed, hopefully it will help attract some much needed footfall to the town centre.”
5 stars, May 2017

“Well done you lot!”

“Perfect service in the cafe, run by a local company Heaven Scent. Outstanding service, happy chatty team, I really got a sense of a great team spirit here ! Fantastic local company provides the coffee beans for your artisan coffee. Traybakes are good, small niggle on the krispie cake, now long out of the fridge = soggy rice krispie. But topped with enjoyable good quality chocolate nevertheless. Faultless service. Very clean & reasonable priced. Hand crafted sandwiches, Panini’s. What’s not too like? Thumbs up in my book!”
5 stars, May 2017

“Service/staff were great (across the board actually) The food was nice, especially the cakes and some nice, unusual selection.”
4 stars, May 2017

“Food excellent in the cafe although a bit pricey. Views beautiful and staff helpful and friendly. Great balcony able to sit in it in all weathers.”
5 stars, May 2017