Please see below just some of the lovely reviews that have been posted onto TripAdvisor, FaceBook and Google. We’ve kept in the comments about the award-winning building, libraries and exhibition areas as they’re all part of the fabulous experience which is Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries!

2017

Great place to visit
“Lovely bright interesting museum in a great location! Well designed and cafe is worth a stop off too!”
5 stars, November 2017

Not just a library!
“This is a remarkable place to visit! So much to offer. An excellent cafe for a cuppa or small lunch. Historic galleries about Dumfermline’s role in WW I and II. And a Museum quality galley about the fine linen manufacturing in Dumfermline’s past. Expect to spend several hours if you want to see it all.”
5 stars, October 2017

“I had the Mediterranean tart and it was served with a little green salad, potatoes salad, and cous cous salad on the side. It was lovely.”
5 stars, October 2017


“Love coming here! Friendly, delicious and vegan-friendly! Couldn’t really ask for more”
5 stars, October 2017

“While visiting the nearby Abbey and Palace this building was recommended to us because of its cafe. Yes, the cafe is nice with a good menu and pleasant surrounding but it is the museum that is the hidden gem. The many interesting items, not only those relative to Dunfermline’s Royal connection, make this a place worth visiting.”
5 stars, October 2017

“Carnegie’s first library, a beautiful building. The new museum is well worth a visit and has a good cafe. There are wonderful views of The Abbey from the museum.”
5 stars, October 2017

“Excellent facilities, new extension blend well with the revamped old building. The beautiful gardens to the west of the building are complimented by a view of Dunfermline Abbey. There is a pleasant cafeteria with outside balcony overlooking the garden and Abbey grounds.”
5 stars, October 2017

“Beautifully done, great views. Museum interesting. Cafe good coffee, tea cosy on the teapot, nice touch. Library facility impressive.”
5 stars, September 2017

“Had a look around and what I did see was well laid out, my wife and I went to the cafe and a nice touch was the hot coffee was brought across to our table. ”
4 stars, September 2017

Clean
“The staff here are very pleasant, food extremely tasty. Clean areas and well presented. Was busy for a Sunday but again, clean tables.”
5 stars, September 2017

 Beautiful new extension
“This is a great place to visit for adults of all ages and children. There is a huge amount to do and see and staff members are very friendly and willing to share their knowledge. The cafe is excellent and the gardens are very well laid out. The atmosphere was welcoming and I got the feeling that people really cared about the place.”
5 stars, September 2017

“Beautifully done, great views. Museum interesting. Cafe good coffee, tea cosy on the teapot, nice touch. Library facility impressive.”
5 stars, September 2017

Clean
“The staff here are very pleasant, food extremely tasty. Clean areas and well presented. Was busy for a Sunday but again, clean tables.”
5 stars, September 2017

Impressive facility and enjoyable fist visit
With a nice little cafe, clean and modern toilets and beautiful gardens with designed seating, sculptures and a small low hedged childrens “maze” this facility provides everything for a great visit for all. Finally, while I understand not all agree, I was delighted to still recognise the Carnegie library I attended as a child integrated so well with a completely different architectural space. Oh, and amazingly entrance is free to all! Dunfermline should be proud of this excellent addition to the town (sorry, old person here, I meant city) and appreciative of the architects, builders, staff, volunteers and all of the team who brought this project from idea to fruition. We certainly are and will be returning regularly.
5 stars, September 2017

Brilliant new library & museum
New Carnegie Library is fabulous! Design modern with brilliant open areas. Sitting in cafe wrap around balcony looking out onto the Abbey. Gorgeous!! Small and delightful museum proudly linking to Dunfermline’s past!”
5 stars, September 2017

Fantastic
“What can I say, but just totally fantastic, what a great job done by all involved with the new design and development of the new galleries, the nostalgia that is on display evokes great memories of yesteryear, there are a plethora of memorabilia on display over a few levels, safe to say that we didn’t have enough time to cover it all. The cafe was also of a good standard.”
5 stars, September 2017

What a lovely find
“I am ashamed to say that I love just 5 minutes from here and didn’t even know it existed! As a child, I used to visit the old library and had long since forgotten about it however on a recent visit to dunfermline, we took advantage of the beautiful weather with a walk round the abbey and stumbled upon here and what a find it is! Beautifully integrated old library with the new galleries, cafe and shop and the gardens are just lovely! Very impressed with that has been done here and will go back for another visit when I have some more time.”
4 stars, September 2017

“Opened this year beside and adjoining the existing library this is a great addition to the towns culture.Its bright and spacious with two parallel wings letting in overhead light. The museum part although small is comprehensive and well chosen showing local history. The art gallery again is small but contains a good selection of important works buy Scottish artists. There is an excellent first floor café run by Heaven Scent, a well respected and successful local business centred on Milnathort.”

“What a fantastic addition for Dunfermline and for Fife. Love how the building capitalises on natural light and views to the Abbey and surroundings. Cafe and galleries were both very popular during our Friday lunchtime visit.”
5 stars, August 2017

“Enjoyed our visit to the new museum and library very much. Beautifully laid out and lovely helpful staff. Lunch in the cafe was delicious and good value for money. Will be back again soon.”
5 stars, July 2017

“The gardens are stunning and so peaceful. Love the balcony in the cafe overlooking the gardens. Great asset to Dunfermline x”
5 stars, July 2017

“Gardens looking lovely. Just had coffee & cake really good brill sponge the blueberry was to die for. Excellent service.”
4 stars, July 2017

“Loved the new museum and library. Definitely a great asset to Dunfermline. Love the video upstairs with the Kings and Queens. Brilliant. Lovely cafe and helpful staff throughout Garden is also lovely 😊 Thanks so much it was well worth the wait.”
5 stars, July 2017

Impressed
“Was very impressed with the new building attached to the old..very interesting stories relating to the local areas, the war and families..cafe had a good selection of cakes etc.”
5 stars, June 2017

Toddler friendly and fun
“Small museum but just the right size for a wander. It’s free, which is always fabulous and access is perfect for a double buggy. There are bright engaging displays with lots of interactive sections, colouring in stations, games and a small dressing up section. The children’s library room is modern and inviting and opens up into a beautiful garden, complete with box hedge maze. Once you have learnt about Dunfermline and its past the cafe is a must visit. Gorgeous food, excellent service and very, very (drool) tasty cake that started a fork war between myself and the kids!”
4 stars, June 2017

An amazing new building
“This redevelopment of the old library is stunning. The building and small gardens were beautiful and the new galleries provided the museum with a modern, accessible resource which were presented in an informative way. Also a brilliant cafe with balcony overlooking Abbey and gardens was also great.”
5 stars, June 2017

Impressed
“Was very impressed with the new building attached to the old..very interesting stories relating to the local areas, the war and families..cafe had a good selection of cakes etc.”
5 stars, June 2017

“Visited for the first time today with my 2 daughters. My older daughter was attending the Harry Potter event (which was brilliant by all accounts!) and my younger daughter and I had a fantastic hour and a half wandering around the interactive exhibitions in the museum, playing snakes and ladders and ‘build your museum’ in the galleries, solving the maze (twice) in the gardens and stopping off at the cafe (which was pretty reasonably priced). I am so impressed with how fantastic this place is and my daughters are asking to go back this weekend. We will be spending a lot of time here!”
5 stars, June 2017

“We were very impressed with the way the Architects have sympatheticly incorporated the original library with the modern interior and exterior of the Museum. The place is flooded with light and the views from the large windows over the Abbey and the Forth are amazing..There are a lot of interactive exhibit’s with interesting commentries from employees of Erskine Beveridge and Wintertour Silk Mills also residents of Dunfermline telling stories of their lives here.. There is also an Art Gallery, shop and a very nice cafe serving drinks and light bites..”
5 stars, June 2017

“We think that Heaven Scent have got it just right with the selection of food and with the way that the food is displayed. I enjoyed the coffee (really good taste from their machine) and the Earl Grey and Lemon cake was excellent.”
5 stars, June 2017

“Great to have this lovely venue in Dunfermline. Love the windows and views, gardens and cafe. Kids library is lovely and great exhibition space. Definitely be back on my own for a better look.”
5 stars, June 2017

“Really well done and would highly recommend a visit. The modern structure ties in beautifully. It has a great spacious feel and the exhibits are cleverly done to draw your interest. The full sized windows give great views. The Sicilian lemon cake from the cafe was a bonus. Fantastic will definitely be back.”
5 stars, June 2017

“Have spent a very enjoyable couple of hours here- cafe good with friendly staff.”
4 stars, June 2017

“This is a stunning newly open building a modern structure wrapped around the original library it offers lots to see the set up and lay out is so easy to navigate. The staff were very welcoming and friendly great café staff and superb food, the gardens were inviting the views from the glazed walkways and large windows were stunning all in all a great visit for me and I can see me back again.”
5 stars, June 2017

“We were looking for a good cup of tea and scone in Dunfermline and a local person suggested this place. We were surprised how good it was, particularly focussing on the history and current community of Dunfermline. The tea and scones were very good.”
5 stars, June 2017

“The New Library and Exhibition Centre opened on 18th May and has free entry to the exhibition halls and Library. It is excellent place to visit on a wet day. It has a nice cafe.”
5 stars, May 2017

“Fabulous views over the Abbey while we had lunch and coffee. Friendly, attentive staff and the food was delicious.”
5 stars, May 2017

“The staff were very welcoming and friendly great café staff and superb food, the gardens were inviting the views from the glazed walkways and large windows were stunning all in all a great visit for me and I can see me back again.”
5 stars, May 2017

“The cafe is quite spacious with a good selection of food.”
5 stars, May 2017

“We visited the cafe which is really good with very friendly and helpful staff and the food/drinks are really nice would recommend their hot chocolates and cakes. Will definitely be visiting again.”
5 stars, May 2017

“Fantastic facilities and lovely cafe, great food, coffee and service! A great addition to Dunfermline! Loved it!”
5 stars, May 2017

“Great place very inspirational a place for everyone of every age food excellent in the cafe”
5 stars, May 2017

“Visited today and thought it was fabulous! Lovely gardens and staff were very friendly! Topped off with a lovely cuppa and cake!”
5 stars, May 2017

“I was really unsure what to expect from the newly renovated and extended library, but I have to say that I absolutely LOVE it! The library itself has retained its original charm, and the new museum and café are modern and spacious and offer great views across to the abbey and further afield. I love the museum, which is interesting and fun, and touches on Dunfermline’s rich history without inducing an information overload. The wee gift shop is nice, cakes in the café are to die for. Staff are friendly and helpful. And it was super busy, with people of all ages. This place is just what Dunfermline needed, hopefully it will help attract some much needed footfall to the town centre.”
5 stars, May 2017

“Well done you lot!”

“Perfect service in the cafe, run by a local company Heaven Scent. Outstanding service, happy chatty team, I really got a sense of a great team spirit here ! Fantastic local company provides the coffee beans for your artisan coffee. Traybakes are good, small niggle on the krispie cake, now long out of the fridge = soggy rice krispie. But topped with enjoyable good quality chocolate nevertheless. Faultless service. Very clean & reasonable priced. Hand crafted sandwiches, Panini’s. What’s not too like? Thumbs up in my book!”
5 stars, May 2017

“Service/staff were great (across the board actually) The food was nice, especially the cakes and some nice, unusual selection.”
4 stars, May 2017

“Food excellent in the cafe although a bit pricey. Views beautiful and staff helpful and friendly. Great balcony able to sit in it in all weathers.”
5 stars, May 2017